Natural Vegetation Burn Permit Information
Please be a good neighbor & consider some people may have health issues that can be exacerbated by smoke. Observe all restrictions and recommendations in order to reduce the amount of smoke your fire produces.
The current advice from the State of Washington is to postpone or cancel your burn if possible. “During the COVID-19 crisis, local fire departments and first responders are doing everything they can to protect their own health so that they are ready to protect others. Many people in Washington communities are also extremely concerned about their respiratory health. So before starting an outdoor burn of any type, please consider the potential impacts on your neighbors and on local emergency responders and postpone or cancel your burn if possible.” (https://ecology.wa.gov/Air-Climate/Air-quality/Smoke-fire/Outdoor-residential-burning
There is no cost to obtain a Natural Vegetation Burning Permit from Mountain View Fire and Rescue. Apply for a Burn Permit using the Burn Permit Form (link above).
All information on the form must be completed in order for the application to be valid.
Permits are valid for the burning of natural vegetation only, with a maximum burn area of 4' x 4' x 3', and subject to the rules and regulations of Washington State, Puget Sound Clean Air, King County and Mountain View Fire and Rescue. Failure to comply with these rules and regulations may result in the forfeiture of a permit and/or financial penalties.
This permit is valid for the address submitted for & printed on the Natural Vegetation Burning Permit only and is non-transferable (natural vegetation cannot be moved from one parcel to another for burning). This permit must be available for inspection by Fire Department Personnel while the permittee is burning vegetation.
No Burn Permits can be issued, or are considered valid even if obtained, for properties in the City of Black Diamond or any urban growth development area. State law prohibits burning of yard waste vegetation within City limits.
Recreational fires are permitted (permit not needed) and are for the burning of seasoned fire wood only (no yard debris). Be sure to review the Recreational Fire Information PDF, located on the right side of this page.
You may also call the Mountain View Fire and Rescue Burn Ban Hotline at: 253-735-0286
It shall be unlawful for any person to cause or allow any outdoor fire:
- 3.1 During any stage of any air pollution episode or period of impaired air quality
- 3.2 Containing garbage, dead animals, asphalt, petroleum products, paints, rubber products, plastics or any substance other than natural vegetation which normally emits dense smoke or obnoxious odors
- 3.3 Other than the following types:
- Fires for instruction in the method of fighting fires (except forest fires).
- Fires associated with agricultural activities for controlling diseases, insects, weed abatement or development of physiological conditions conducive to increased crop yield, provided written confirmation has been furnished by a designated county extension agent or agricultural specialist designated by the Cooperative Extension Service that burning is the best management practice, and prior written approval has been issued by the Control Officer.
The burn pile must be no larger than 4 feet by 4 feet, by 3 feet tall, and may consist of leaves, clippings, pruning, and other yard and gardening natural vegetation refuse originating on lands immediately adjacent and in close proximity to a human dwelling and burned on such lands by the property owner or his or her designee, provided a permit has been issued. Open fires must be constantly attended by a competent person until the fire is extinguished. A means of extinguishing the fire such as a garden hose connected to a water supply must be readily available while the fire is burning. The fire must be extinguished immediately when changing weather conditions increase the danger of fire spreading beyond the burn pile.
If a person fails to comply with any provision of this resolution pertaining to fire permits, or of any term or condition of the permit, and as a result of that failure the district is required to suppress a fire, the person is liable to the district to reimburse the costs of the fire suppression services pursuant to RCW 52.12.108.
This permit may be canceled at any time upon violation of conditions, nuisance from smoke or fly ash, or if prevailing weather so warrants. The Fire Chief and/or designee have the authority to ban any and all burning at any time.
Please visit the following links to stay up-to-date on current Burn Bans imposed by Puget Sound Clean Air and/or the King County Fire Marshal, since the weather may have an impact on burn bans.
Puget Sound Clean Air's website: http://www.pscleanair.org/168/Current-Status
Puget Sound Clean Air Alert Sign-up: http://www.pscleanair.org/169/Sign-Up-For-Alerts
King County Fire Marshal: https://www.kingcounty.gov/depts/local-services/permits/fire-safety/burn-bans-fireworks.aspx